TESTIMONIALS

The following testimonials were either emailed to me, or were posted on The Texas Fishing Forum or The Bass Fishing Homepage. If you are a client of mine and would like to have your testimonial added to this page, I would be more than happy to add it!!! I appreciate everyone who took the time to write about our trips!!!
 


Google Review

When I first started researching guide services for my trip to Lake Fork, Texas I kept seeing Jason Hoffman’s name come up with excellent reviews. I have to admit I was a little skeptical that getting a guide would make much of a difference, I fish multiple times a week. Today I was proved totally wrong, what I ended up with is the best bass fishing day of my life. For a start, Jason taught me fishing techniques that I had never tried before. It was great to take in so much new information. Jason is a great teacher and takes the time to explain not just the how but also the why. I never thought I could learn so much in 1 day of fishing. Now for the stuff everyone really wants to know about, the fishing. Today was hands down the best bass fishing day of my life. My personal best bass before today was 6 lbs, a pretty good fish for the North East. I caught it when I was 11, 20 years ago. I have fished a lot in the North East but never caught anything bigger. My first fish at Lake Fork today was an 8 pound bass!! Beating my personal best by 2lbs. I could not have been more excited. We kept catching amazingly big bass any one of them would be considered a monster if not a state record back home. I did not think my day could get any better but I was wrong. That afternoon with the help of pro guide Jason Hoffman I caught a largemouth bass weighing 12.3 pounds!!! That 12lb bass would have been a state record in 28 states. We ended up with 17 fish, I could not believe it was possible to catch that many fish over 6lbs in one day. To give some perspective, the bass we caught was exactly 3 pounds heavier than the biggest bass caught at the 2014 Bassmaster Classic. Also the 5 top weights of our fish would have beaten the best anger’s day at the Bassmaster Classic by over 10 pounds!! If you are thinking about hiring a guide service you could not make a better choice than Jason Hoffman. I will never forget this trip.

Chris from Maryland

 


I took us almost a year to book Jason Hoffman for April 2014 and it was well worth the wait. It was a cold and windy day and Jason had us on the fish all day. From morning until late afternoon, every spot we caught bass. I have been fishing 35 plus years, and along with the assorted strategy, techniques, and knowledge one collects in pursuit of the elusive largemouth bass, I find the most important characteristic in successful fishing is passion. Jason has that passion. He is determined to give his clients their most memorable day ever on the water. I could not recommend his services more highly. We have already booked another trip with Jason for September 2014.

J. Fox
Carrollton, TX

 


Jason,

Thanks again for the over the top guide experience. It’s not often that guides can keep you on the fish all day long and make sure everyone catches big fish. You really stand out from other guides on Lake Fork, which speaks to your fifteen years on Fork. We have booked again for September and are looking forward to the same professionalism.

Best,
David P.
Ft. Worth, TX

 


Hi Jason –

Sorry I am so delinquent in getting an e-mail sent to you to say THANKS for a great day fishing on Lake Fork! My nephew Nick and I came over spring break in March. I know the weather wasn’t perfect at that time but Nick had an AWESOME time!! He was so excited to see Lake Fork as we drove over the long bridge when we arrived and he was thrilled with his day of fishing with you. You were his fishing buddy for the day … gently guiding and working together to get fish. I think he only caught a few with biggest being around 4-4 ½ lb but I think it was a grand day for him. He’s quiet, so you don’t really know what he is thinking, but I could tell he was totally loving it! We did a picture book on line and got that back a couple weeks ago … he’s proud to show it off and has shared many fishing stories with whoever would listen.

As Nick’s aunt, I was glad that we got Jason Hoffman for our guide – you are awesome!! Even tho I’m not a fisherman or a water person I enjoyed the day so much just being out there on your boat and watching you two do what you love.

I see you are hitting bass big time these days! Awesome! Sometime I hope to bring Nick back down in April or early May – we’ll be looking you up when that time comes.

Have a great summer!
Jan S.
Ames, Iowa

 


Great Day with Jason Hoffman Lake Fork

Jason and I have been trying to get a trip on the books for a few months…Well Wednesday (12/18/2013) we hooked up.
We hit the water around 10am as that was the earliest I could get there…We were on a mission to pull a Mule..
That’s it…One bite…One Fish…one Lure…Jig! Nice looking on the front deck and only seeing 4 rods total.

We hit a ton of creek channels….bends…big stump sect ect ect….Well Jason messed up and caught a few slots…We didn’t get the fish we were looking for…But when you fish like this….that’s how it goes.

Jason is a true professional and made the day a great day…he met all my expectations and more….

I invited him to hit a private lake this April….a lake not too many people to get to fish…. Well he is booked the month of April already…Hope he can change a few things and make that trip..

If you want a great day on Fork with a guy who will work his but off and set a day just for you……

Lake Fork Guide Jason Hoffman is your guy…

Thanks for a great day and we will hit the water again soon.

Chris R.
McKinney, TX

 


Lake Fork Guide Recommendation… Here is my choice… (November 27, 2013

It seems like every week there is a post made for a lake fork guide recommendation. There are a lot of replies to that question, but very little information is provided on why a person should select that particular guide. So, I thought I would share my recommendation and day on the water with Jason Hoffman and my 9 year old son.

First off, I’m a simple guy. I break people into two categories, guys that give a dang and guys that don’t. Jason Hoffman gives a dang and it showed before, during, and after our trip.

Prior to our trip, I explained to Jason I didn’t really care if I fished that much, but was hoping my son could fish and I could learn more about using electronics. First off, Jason was awesome with my son. While my son does well casting on his own, it was freezing and we were throwing big baits and it was obvious that my boy was not comfortable casting on his own. Jason made every single cast for my kid. At one point, he had two rods going at the same time. Jason was all over that boat, whether he was unhooking fish, retying baits, or getting us ready for the next stop. Jason works his tail off to put you on fish and make sure you have a fun trip.

I know everyone wants to know how many fish we caught. We had 7 largemouth and all the white bass you could want. Now I know that you don’t go to fork to catch white bass, but I wanted to learn some structure fishing and where we marked bass, the whites were there also. I know that 7 largemouth doesn’t sound like a lot, but it was actually a great day on the water considering I didn’t fish much and Jason didn’t fish at all. My son also caught his personal best of 5.5 lbs on this trip. And, I know we would have caught more fish had Jason fished with us.

I know there may be guides that catch more fish, but I’d be willing to bet there is not another guide on the planet that works as hard as Jason to make sure you have a great time. He had us rolling all day, just a good dude to be around.

At the ramp we used, there were several guides that launched from that ramp. We were there before them and we were the last boat to come in. I know that some of those guys could have been on a half day trip, but I know we were out longer than the typical full day trip. There was no clock watching with Jason, in fact, I had to tell him it was time to go, that was pretty refreshing. Like I said, the dude gives a dang. He wanted my boy to catch a biggun before we left.

As we ended the day, I ended up giving him everything I had in my wallet, lol. I gave him well over the standard guide fee and well over the typical tip amount (if there is one). I gave him everything I had because I felt that he gave me and my son everything he had. I’ve been on other guide trips, where the guide is watching the clock or talking on the phone, or bad mouthing other guides on the lake. This will not happen on your trip with Jason.

As Jason pulled out of the parking lot, my boy said, “that guy was a beast” lol.

Hey Jason, we really appreciate the effort.

Mason E.
Tom Bean, TX

 


Jason, I just wanted to take a minute to tell you how much I appreciated the effort you put into making the trip a good one. I see the picture made the bragging board . Thanks! The weather was frightful that day (11/04/13), the rain started out slow and picked up speed as the temps started out in the 60s and dropped considerably. Still you kept on with the tenacity of a lion on the hunt . I came there with the intent of catching a good fish, fishing with an excellent fisherman, and learning some things about Lowrance locators. You, my friend, fulfilled all of the above. When I pulled into the Minnow Bucket and told them I was waiting for you, they had nothing but praise for you. Now I know why. Thanks for the great day on the water. Fishing is fishing and catching is catching we did both.

Mickey I.
Chicago, IL

I was in search for something special for my son’s graduation present. I wanted to book a guided fishing trip on Lake Fork (6/27/13), but had no idea who to use. I came across Jason Hoffman’s information and decided to give him a call. I knew from the conversation I had with this cat, we were gonna have a good time! This guy was really all about making sure his guest were having fun even when the bite was slow. We ended up catching 14 large mouth bass all together. My son absolutely had a blast! He broke his past record with a 6.69 lb, and I broke my past record with a 9.44 lb bass! Awesome day on the lake. If you’re looking for a personable guide who knows his fishing, this is the guy. If you’re not catching, at least you’re laughing! Hats off to you Jason Hoffman!

Jeremy G.
DeSoto, TX

My brother and I traveled from Miami, Fl to fish with Jason on Lake Fork. We fished March 17 and 18th, 2013. To say we had a great time with lots of fun, laughter, and big bass would be an understatement. The conditions were not ideal, however Jason put us on some hawgs because of his experience and perseverance. We didn’t catch a monster, but plenty of 5 pounders kept us busy and eager to come back and fish Lake Fork again with Jason. I would recommend Jason to anyone interested in fishing this terrific lake and have an awesome experience with a great guy, and who wouldn’t want that? If you haven’t been to Lake Fork (or you have and fished with someone else), you need to do yourself a big favor, call Jason Hoffman, and go catch some big fat bass!

Sean S.
Miami, FL

Lake Fork Clients - KushJason,

Now that all the excitement of the holidays has passed, I wanted to take the time to thank you for guiding us on Lake Fork the Monday before Thanksgiving. We had a great time, learned a lot, and hauled in some real hawgs. Living so far away, it really was a trip of a lifetime and we walked away with some great memories. My son and I have wanted to fish Falcon and Fork for years. We managed to mark Falcon off the list and finally marked Fork off the list and glad we did.

I was very fortunate that someone in my area was able to recommend your guide service based on word of mouth. I am also sure you would agree there is always an element of risk dealing with someone with whom you have never met. Your service far exceeded my expectations. First and foremost, you treated my family with respect. This was especially important having my wife and future daughter-in-law with us. Thanks for making us all feel right at home. Second, you asked me what my expectations were regarding the outing. That may sound a little simplistic, but I felt like you took the time to customize the outing to meet my goals, and not just taking us along to fish with you in your boat. Third, you taught us about the fall pattern, finding structure, lure selection, and tips on reading the electronics. Lastly, because there were four of us in the group, you arranged to have another guide you trusted to help, and kept us all in close proximity to enjoy each other’s company and catches.

Lake Fork Client - Kush 2
Also, here is a link to my post on the Nebraska fishing & hunting website. Unfortunately they had an issue the week prior with someone posting links to commercial services so we were encouraged not to. Nonetheless, your name is out there on the forum and they can find it by searching “Lake Fork” or “guide”.

You will certainly have my highest recommendations for a guide service in the Lake Fork area. My family and I are still talking about the fun and we hold you in high regard. You’re good people and we hope to be able to fish with you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mitch Kush
Columbus NE

Hello Jason,

I wanted to thank you and Ronnie for a wonderful day of fishing!!!!!  We can’t stop talking about all the fun and laughter we had.  We had such a good time and I want to plan another trip for April.  Thanks again for a great time!

Lynn S.
Mesquite, TX
November 2, 2012

From the Texas Fishing Forum:

I went on a trip to Monticello with Jason on Monday (12/13/10). We had an awesome time.  We boated about 40 fish and would have had a couple more, but I can’t fish, lol.

Some of these were dinks, but several were chunks. We had 3 that went over 5lbs and several in the 3-4 range.  Catching fish was great, but the best thing about the trip was Jason’s effort.  It’s refreshing to have a guide that actually cares about a client catching fish.  I’ve been on trips where the guides were fishing hard and you’re just along for the ride using the back deck.

With Jason, if I got hung up or broke something off, he would hand me another rod and tell me to fish, while he dealt with the mess.  Within a few cast, he’d have the new rod all rigged up and ready to go.  That was an important for me being that I don’t get many days to get out and fish.  Another thing that I really liked about Jason was instead of fishing the entire time, he would get prepared for the next stop.  As we changed areas, he would get us rigged up while I fished the last few minutes at each stop.  When we got to the new stop, we dropped the TM and starting fishing.

We were scheduled to end at 4:30 or so, but I said, let me make a few more casts and we’ll get out of here. He said, don’t worry about it…..we have plenty of time.  At 5p, we were still fishing.  At about 5:15p, he took me to another spot and said, let’s make 3 casts before we leave.  On the last cast, I landed probably our largest fish, somewhere between 5-6lbs.  The other guides I’ve used are hauling tail to the ramp right at quitting time. But with Jason it was all about the customer service and I really appreciated all his efforts.

Jason, thanks for a great trip…..gotta love that 141 brother…..

Mason


Adam - testimonials - Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Adam with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Texas Fishing Forum:

 

My wife and I fished with guide Jason Hoffman on Saturday (10/16/10) at Lake Fork. We had a blast and caught some fish.  When it comes to spending all day with someone, you better get along — especially in a boat.  This guy is very funny and there was never a dull moment.  He showed me some things I hadn’t seen before and they work like a charm.  He made me feel a little useless, but if your like to be waited on hand and foot, this guy really takes care of you.  I was really impressed.  I will fish with him again and recommend you do too.  Thanks Jason.

Adam Mc.


James with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

James with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Texas Fishing Forum:

Man I love this lake! Fished a full day yesterday (10/10/10) with LFG Jason Hoffman and caught my new personal best! 22 inch, 8lb 7oz toad and I’m still smiling! It was a great day on the water. We caught countless small fish in the 10-15 inch range with 8-10 3-4lb fish mixed in. Tons of sand bass too, which I’ve never seen in 5 years of fishing Fork. We were in a pocket of what I thought was all small fish catching one after another when WHAM, the big girl bit! It goes to show you that on Fork, your next cast could be the one. Thanks to Jason for a great trip! Give him a call if you are looking for a great guide who will put you on the fish!

James R.


Ben with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Ben with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason:

I want to thank you for the best bass fishing day I have ever had (9/20/10).  I fished many years ago, but was a pan fish fisherman and dabbled in bass fishing.  Well you have hooked me on bass fishing.  I had never caught a fish on a top water bait before and it was exhilarating.  It was a great experience.  I learned how to fish a top water bait. I learned how to fish a finesse worm and a lot about structure plus we caught fifty plus fish.  What a great day on the lake with such a great guide.  I look forward to seeing you again in February.

Ben


Jason,

I just wanted to drop you a note and give you a big thank you for the great time (9/15/10).
Sue talked about how much fun she had the whole way home.  I think we have her addicted now.  The fishing was GREAT for both of us, but we were both most impressed with you personally.  It was like fishing with a friend (who just happened to know where all the fish where) LOL.  Looking forward to seeing you again in Oct or Nov.

Thanks so much for a great time,

Rob and Sue


Grae with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Grae with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Hi Jason,

I just wanted to thank you for making Grae’s fishing trip (3/10/10) so great.

We really enjoyed having you be our guide. You went over and beyond all that you needed to do taking care of us that day –  from making sure we had the right lures to making sure we didn’t get struck by lighting : )  You definitely gave us much more time and effort than you had to.  Grae has always want to come fish at Lake Fork and you made it as great as he imagined it would be.  Thanks again and I am sure we will be seeing you again next year! 

Missy Buck


Jason:
I wanted to say thank you again for a great day on the lake last Friday 11/6/09.  I’m very glad you suggested that we take a break from Fork and head over to Lake Welsh, it really paid off.  There are not many folks that go fishing and end the day with a true count of 89 fish as we did.  Keep me posted on your planned trips down to Falcon and let me know the dates of availability remaining.  Hope your Sunday trip caught them like we did on Friday, nothing like the face of a 15-year old boy with a good fish on………  
Tom

Jason with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Texas Fishing Forum:
Lake Fork – Jason Hoffman

For cost reasons I try and be selective about how I invest my fishing monies. I’ve been out with several guides, with a specific purpose each time. Ultimately the goal for me is always to learn so I can become a better fisherman. I went out with Jason for the first time this weekend and am really glad I did.I think we ended up catching 14 fish on a half day trip, really nice size, super healthy fish, but more importantly I was able to learn and expand my knowledge about two different patterns, and focus on the details in a couple different presentations.If you are just looking to catch some fish, Jason will put you on them. However, if you are looking to learn and grow, I would really encourage you to get with Jason and focus on technique, pattern, etc. He is very knowledgeable and can help you as an angler.I’m no KVD, but I am an experienced angler who lives on Lake Fork. I can honestly say our time on the water was not only very beneficial to my growth as an angler, but was one of the most enjoyable times I’ve had in quite a while.  Thanks Jason!

with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Texas Fishing Forum:

101 degrees on Fork Saturday; Fishing was GREAT!!!
So my brother calls me Friday and asked me if I wanted to go on a guided trip Saturday afternoon, he never fishes in the afternoon this late in the summer. We went and fished with Jason Hoffman. This was my first time with Jason, it will not be the last he is a very good guide. Jason number is 903-456-3691.Jason worked with my brother and me on fishing deep water areas in the heat of summer. We put 13 in the boat the smallest was 3 pounds the biggest in the boat was a solid 7 we probably averaged 5 pounds per fish. Every fish came off of a jig. I lost a monster at the boat! Great day, gained confidence on fishing deep water and staying with it! This was a typical fish we landed. My brother has better pictures, I’ll post them as soon as he emails them to me.

Joe with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Joe with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman – 11.13 lbs

Jason,

Just wanted to take the time and thank you again for an amazing trip Friday (1/23/09).  I’ve seen plenty of pictures of big bass but never dreamed that I would have the chance to see one up close, much less at the end of my rod.  An 11.13, still can’t believe it!  I dreamed about catching her all night last night and  woke up this morning feeling like a million bucks!

I posted a couple of times on the TFF but wanted to share one in particular.  In a post I stated that you had earned my business for a lifetime, not just because you put me on the fish of a lifetime, but because you have taught me so much.  I greatly appreciate you taking the time to explain the area we are fishing as well as why we are fishing it.  You’re a rare breed, someone that loves his job and loves to teach those that want to learn.

I talked to Patrick for about an hour last night.  He was definitely excited for me and became more excited when he realized he’d get his shot at a big’un in two months.  I know he’s counting down the days to spring break.  We’ve had a blast on our trips with you. 

So, once again, thank you for a great trip.  If there is ever anything I can do to help you in any way, just let me know!

Thanks again!
Joe O’toole
Wylie, TX

Patrick with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Patrick with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason,

I just wanted to say thanks for yet another great trip out.  I’m stillhaving a hard time believing we caught that many fish!  The trip really gave me an opportunity to work on some of the techniques that I wasn’t confident with.  Now I feel like I can go to my home lake and catch fish using the techniques you helped me develop.  On another note, your name and our trips together come up every time fishing is mentioned to Patrick.  He thinks the world of you.  Our relationship is better than it has ever been thanks in part to our trips to Lake Fork.  You’re an awesome guy and an excellent guide.  We’ll see you in March!

Thanks again!
Joe O’toole
Wylie, TX

Hey Jason-


Matt with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Matt with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

I just wanted to drop you a line and say thanks. Matt and I went out to Ray Roberts yesterday and were able to catch good fish on a lake we knew very little about.  We got rained on most of the morning but it was a great time. As a matter of fact, we had four fish in the boat in the first two minutes of having the trolling motor in the water (2 sandies and 2 large mouth) on top waters.  My best for the day was 4 lb. 10 oz. caught with a crank bait banging it through timber.  I would have never thrown this if I hadn’t gone with you and gained confidence. You have truly made me a better fisherman, and that is why I say thanks.  Matt and I were able to pick good spots and eliminate poor ones quickly with what we have learned from our trips with you. I can’t remember the last time Matt and I have fished together that your name has not come up, whether it be a funny story, or the knowledge we have gained from you.  I know Matt is appreciative of all the help you gave him in his search for a boat.  Just last night as we were capping off a great day on the lake a Buffalo Wild Wings, he exclaimed how happy he was that you suggested nothing less than a 200 h.p. motor and how disappointed he would already be if he hadn’t have listened. Not only have I learned a ton, but I thoroughly enjoyed the camaraderie shared on our trips together.  Every time we fished together I felt like I was fishing with an old buddy I hadn’t seen in a while. Thanks again. I hope things are going well on Fork.

Sincerely appreciative,
Dustin Lewis
Ft. Worth, TX

Mike with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Mike with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Texas Fishing Forum:

I was guided on Friday by Jason Hoffman… What a guy and what a guide… He did an excellent job…. We put a lot of fish in the boat and had an excellent time. Jason is a super person to fish with. He is very in tune with the lake and the fish… He put us on fish right off. We caught a lot of 5’s 6’s and one in the 8’s. He also knew I was new to the lake and would be taking my smaller sized boat out on the following two days and helped put us on fish those days also in areas I felt comfortable going. I just couldn’t have asked for a better guide. I have fished with other guides on other lakes and have generally been very happy but this person was at the top of his game. It is also nice to fish all day with someone who is fun and laughter just to help make the entire day go by and enjoy a mini vacation with.

Carlton Bare
Houston, TX

Bobby with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Bobby with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Hey Jason,

Although the internet is always a great source of information, you never really know what you might end up with when you buy goods or services. When I searched “fishing guide lake fork” I had no idea what a “catch” it would serve back! Pun intended!

Jason Hoffman, You are one awesome guide! I couldn’t have possibly come up with a better birthday gift than the day we had on Saturday! I can assure you that you have made 2 friends that will last a lifetime!  Bobby is already working on Boone to plan a trip for them so I’m sure you’ll be hearing from him soon.

Take care of yourself and that sweet little girl of yours- protect her from those alligators!

Once again, thanks so much we’re looking forward to the next time!

Caryl Merchant
College Station, TX

Charla with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Charla with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Hey Jason!

Man, thanks for a great time, I had a wonderful trip as did Charla, we just looked on your website and saw the pics, they’re great!  I’m going to write a testimonial, use it if you want, if not, I guess just read it for the truth!

I work overseas, and my trips back home to East Texas are few and short, and sometimes get changed at the last minute.  I was home in October of last year, and with short notice, was able to get with Jason for a trip to Lake Fork.  He had a situation come up, and was unable to take us, but found a great replacement in Wendell Moon who took us and put us on some fish.  Great guide, and at that time, I knew Jason was a good guy to have a friend like Wendell.

My next trip home was going to be in early February, and Jason and I confirmed plans to fish Monticello for some bedding fish.  Well…. my plans got changed again, and I had to cancel.  I then had plans to return early March, made plans again with Jason, only to have my itinerary get moved up to late February, causing me to cancel again.  Jason was open for 1 day during my time home, so we took it.  We doubled right off the bat, then it was slow going for a while.  We moved, checking several places, but the muddy water and cooler temps had shut down what was a great bite just a few days earlier.  We then checked another area, found some good water, and like the morning started, caught 2 right off the bat.  We then needed to make a run to the marina, but before we did, Jason found one on a bed.  We fished it hard, but had to get back to the marina.  Upon returning to fishing, we found another boat on that fish.  We found another couple of fish on the beds, and my ultimate goal was for my girlfriend to catch a big fish off the beds.  She got up on the front of the boat with Jason and he coached her on that fish.  In a few minutes, she reared back and the short line fight was on.  Next, I’m taking pictures of her with her biggest fish to date, a 6 lber.

The light was going fast, and we were really getting on the fish.  Jason was able to work some things around and take us again the next morning for half a day.  We went back to those fish, but another boat had beat us there, and coupled with the wind making it hard to see what fish were still there, we weren’t able to spot any bed fish.

Jason’s flexibility with scheduling, his great attitude, and patience to get my girlfriend her biggest bass really impressed me.  He is a class act, and a great guide who I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone at any level of bass fishing.

Thanks Jason for a great trip, and we’ll see you in June for some topwater action!

Robert Ridell
Afghanistan / Tyler, TX

Chris H. with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Chris H. with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason,

I want to say thank you again for providing such a great service.  I know that you would have like for us to have pulled more fish into the boat, than we did, but considering it was January and we drastic changes in conditions of the water & weather, you still put us on fish.

Bob had never fished for largemouth before and I think we now have converted a trout fisherman to a Bass guy.  This trip was a great experience for him & me.  I was also impressed with your ability to educate people.  Bob never fished with a bait-caster before and WOW!  If remember correctly, Bob only had one back-lash the entire trip.   I remember the first time I tried to use a bait-caster, I spent hours trying to undo backlash, and I must say that was attributed to your ability to educate and your knowledge of how to use the equipment.  I believe that the equipment you provided it helped and that the equipment is QUALITY.  I am now looking to pickup a new reel when I get back home.

Jason, again thank you for providing such a quality service.  I hope to return in the near future for some of that great spring fishing.  Jason, you are a knowledgeable, professional, friendly, and courteous guide.  I highly recommend you and your service to anyone!!!!  If you would like to experience quality fishing from a knowledgeable guide, than truly consider fishing Lake Fork with guide service from Jason Hoffman.

Yes, my last name is Hoffman but no-relation!

Chris Hoffman
Boston, Massachusetts

Le with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Le with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason,
I just wanted to say thanks again for the great fishing trip and cant wait to do it again.  Just like normal spring time fishing, conditions can be tough at times, and this trip it was.  Even with the 30+ mph winds and the storm that blew in, you still put us on fish and good ones. And like each time I have fished with you, I have learned something new.  Either a new bait , a new technique , or a new place on the lake.  And this trip it was a little of all.  And thanks to that little trick you showed me with my favorite bait, the jig,  I was able to catch my largest bass to date.  She was 24 1/2” long and weighed 9.9 lbs.
And to all the folks out there looking for a great guide, Jason is one to get.  I have fished with him three times now and I wish I had started fishing with him sooner.  Every time I have fished with him we have caught good fish and plenty of them!  And when you’re fishing with Jason its like being on the boat with an old life long friend.  Thanks again Jason. Hope to see you soon.
 
Le Coats
Ponca City, OK

Valerie with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Valerie with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason,
We just wanted to thank you for making our trip so enjoyable.  My wife was introduced to bass fishing with a lunker and I think she’s hooked now!  We appreciated your extra effort and hospitality, and though you are the only guide we have ever fished with we will definitely look you up next year. I hope you post this letter and feel free to use us as a reference. Thanks again for the pointers.

 

Buck and Valerie
San Antonio, TX

Hey Jason!

I thought I would show off my biggest fish ever caught thanks to you man.  I caught this beautiful, dark green 9.0 pounder in Florida.  It was mid July and right before a storm front hit.  Of course, it was on your wacky worm setup.  I can’t thank you enough for teaching Tyler and I so many things in March.  We have caught so many more fish this year largely to you.  I just talked to Tyler tonight and we are already planning a return trip for this spring.  I can’t tell you how many times Tyler and I have been on the water this year and have talked about what a great time we had.  We really appreciated your willingness to teach us so many things on the water, you’ve truly made me a much better angler.  Most of all you made us feel like we were fishing with an old buddy.  You are a first class act on the water.  I look forward to many more trips!! 

Josh Chapman
Indianapolis, IN

Joe with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Joe with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Jason,
We had a good safe trip back to Tennessee.  I just wanted to thank you again for an excellent 3 days of fishing.  I was very pleased that Joe was able to boat a big one, that was great.  He had a great time and so did I.  Thanks for getting me to the hospital in a timely fashion on Saturday, the finger is doing good. I am trying to figure out a way to mount the lure so I can display it in my office as a conversation piece.Again, thanks for working so hard to put us on fish and I hope that we get the opportunity to do it again.
Bob Whedbee
Tennessee

Chris A. with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Chris A. with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Bass Fishing Home Page:
Fished Saturday with Jason Hoffman, what a great day. We boated 12 and missed some big ones. We have fished lots of guided trips but this was the best ever, Jason was the most courteous and helpful guide we’ve ever had. Don’t let his age fool you this kid knows his stuff. Chris caught his best Bass yet 7.88. All I can say is thanks for the MEMORIES.
Chris and Roy Allen

From the Bass Fishing Home Page:
I fished Lake Fork Friday and Saturday of last week (March 19 & 20, 2004).  Friday was a very tough day, one small buck.  All that timber is pretty intimidating for us highland reservoir bassers, at least for me.  I called Jason Friday night for some advice, he was nice enough to call back.  This is the guides busiest time of the year.  He spent a half hour with me and the result was my personal best of 8.6 and another 7.5 and lost a really big one.  Didn’t see her, but she felt like a 20lb striper pulls.  Jason thanks so very much, any of you guys looking for a guy who knows his stuff — this guy does.  I’m sure there are many talented and knowledgeable guides in the east Texas area, this is just a big attaboy for Jason, a great guy.  Hope to get a chance to fish with you some day. Best of everything to you Jason and hope you knock ’em dead on Old Hickory this fall.
Joseph Mack
Tennessee

From the Bass Fishing Home Page:
Just got back from my first trip ever to Lake Fork. Despite not catching the big one, the trip was a great success thanks to one of the best guides I have ever had the pleasure to do business with. I have fished seriously for over 10 years now with many different guides and none ever worked as hard as Jason Hoffman. When coming to a Lake for the first time or just looking to learn something new, from someone who spends 100’s of days on the water you know and love. Nothing beats getting a guide to significantly increase your chances of success. On Friday, we faced some on-going tough weather conditions but Jason put us on fish and showed us how to catch fish under the conditions we would be faced with for the weekend. Whether fishing for fish on the beds or perfecting the wacky worm presentations, he coached us and helped us out tremendously. We managed to catch 20+ fish with Jason when the resounding comments we heard from everyone was little to no fish at all. Meeting Jason for the first time is honestly like fishing with someone you have fished with for years. Even if the fishing conditions are tough, you can bet you will at the very least learn something from a very skilled fisherman. I feel 100% confident that anyone seeking a trip with Jason will learn that he genuinely wants everyone to catch fish whether they have a trip with him or not. I look forward to fishing with Jason in the future. Thank you Jason!!
Mike
Kansas City, MO

Steve and Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Steve and Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Last year my buddy and I realized that if we wanted to catch good quality fish at Cooper we were going to have to spend a lot more time than we had available in order to learn the lake.  We were tired of going to Cooper and being frustrated with not catching fish and really not knowing where to go.  I found Jason’s website and decided to call him to see if he’d help us.  I told him that we wanted to learn how to run the lake and also learn as many techniques as possible in order to effectively catch fish.  He told me that he could do just that.  He was right!  Jason put us on fish and showed us how to catch fish in various conditions.  He coached us and helped us out tremendously.  Now when we go to Cooper we know how to navigate the lake and we catch fish.  It was amazing to us how much effort Jason put into us having a good time and catching fish.  It was like three old friends fishing together and having a good time even though we had just met.  He has continued to this day to help us by giving us advice when we need it.  He genuinely wants everyone to catch fish whether they have a trip with him or not.  I look forward to fishing with Jason in the future.  Thank you Jason!!
Steve Mayo
Texarkana, TX

Mr. Adams with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Mr. Adams with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Hi Jason,  
I wanted to thank you for being so kind to my husband and his brother.  They both had a great time.  I think it is awesome how you changed the fishing schedule because of the weather.  That was way above and beyond the call of duty.  I realize you have no control over the weather and that is one reason I went ahead and booked you for two days.  I would recommend you highly to anyone who asks.   Look us up if you ever get to Jacksonville! Thanks again,
Linda Adams
Jacksonville, FL

Jason,

I just wanted to thank you for a great trip last Saturday.  Brian and I both had a really great time fishing with you.  We really felt that you did everything in your power, including fishing longer than you had to, to put us on the big one.  Having fished the lake quite a bit in the past, I was happy to learn some new techniques as well as polish up on some old ones.  I know Brian appreciated you showing him how to fish Texas waters and putting him in the right place at the right time to get that big bite.  It is quite an adjustment for him from walleye fishing in Minnesota, that’s for sure.  I was really impressed with your knowledge of the lake and will recommend your guide service to everyone I know going to fish Fork in the future.  I look forward to fishing with you again in the Spring.  Until then, GOOD LUCK and know that you are appreciated.

Sincerely,

David Thomas

Larry with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

Larry with Lake Fork guide Jason Hoffman

From the Texas Fishing Forum:

It was beautiful winter day yesterday. Fished with guide Jason Hoffman and man, let me tell you, that boy knows how to fish!We started off right by the ramp working the left cove. After catching a few small fish, we headed to the bridge for my introduction to drop shotting. In about an hour, we landed another 7 or 8 fish. This technique will never be my favorite, but I can see how it could be extremely effective in certain situations. The the fish here were relatively small, but we were just getting warmed up.Next we headed to the far end of the lake to work the timber. The bigger fish began to show up here. Boated several nice chunks and a 5#er, mainly on senkos.Moved to the back side of the far bridge and caught several more fat 3#ers, mostly on finesse worms.With just a minute or two of day light remaining, we ended the day on a hump. Jason didn’t waste any time. First he landed a nice 4#er. Then he put a 5#er in the boat. What a great way to finish the day!We totaled 21 fish on a beautiful lake. Not too shabby for half day’s fishing.  Jason is an excellent guide. He really knows his craft and is a great person to spend time on the water with. I would highly recommend him if you’re seeking a professional guide – without a doubt.
Russ
Hewitt, TX

From the Texas Fishing Forum:
Well, I took Slo-Cal up on his recommendation and hired Jason Hoffman to guide us on Monticello yesterday. You were right-on Slo-Cal you can’t miss with Jason.  Not only did he hold off this wicked cold front, he stuck with us until we landed the big one (dark:30)!We boated 15 nice bass ranging from 1 to 5 pounds and we had 4 serious break-offs.  It was a treat to watch others pass in front of us and we would follow and get bit!  I brought two first-timers from Connecticut, one of which boated his first, second, third and forth bass of his life. He’s hooked and looking forward to his next bass trip.We all had a tremendous time because Jason is a true bass professional, he knows the lake and I think some of the fish, personally. Best of all, he is willing and able to teach the novice or seasoned fisherman.  We left with knowledge and special memories that will last for a long time.  THANKS JASON!!!  Out of respect for Jason trying to feed his family doing what he loves, I will leave it up to him to divulge any details of the trip.  If I knew how to post the pics I would.Merry Christmas, Fish-on!
Larry Hughes
Ray Roberts, TX